Spicy Vegetable Fried Rice

This is a bonus recipe because I ended up cooking a ton last week since I wasn’t feeling well. So, I bought this frozen Panang curry dish from Trader Joe’s last week to eat on a night where I just did not feel like cooking. Unfortunately, I didn’t notice that it actually came with rice (I’ve become SO absent minded in business school haha) and proceeded to make a couple cups of rice before I took out the curry. Needless to say, now I had cooked rice that I didn’t know what to do with….until I had a flash of genius! I could make fried rice! So just using ingredients that I already had in the kitchen, I ended up with the following recipe:

Spicy Vegetable Fried Rice ( ~3-4 servings)
Total time: 15-20 minutes (not counting rice cooking time)

Ingredients:

2 cups cooked rice (preferably cooked the night before and chilled)
1 tsp oil
1 cup frozen mixed vegetables
2 eggs
2 green chilies, chopped
1/4 cup soy sauce for seafood (slightly sweeter but you can use 1/3 cup regular soy sauce instead)
1/4 cup rice vinegar

Recipe

  1. Whisk eggs
  2. Heat oil in a pan or wok and cook whisked eggs like you would make scrambled eggs
  3. Set eggs aside on a plate and add frozen vegetables to the pan. Cook for 2 minutes while stirring
  4. Add rice, soy sauce, rice vinegar, and green chilies to the pan and cook until heated through (~5 minutes)
  5. Add eggs back in and mix
  6. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Add spice if necessary but this should be sufficiently spicy

 

Leave a comment