Grapefruit Bars with a Shortbread Crust

After getting out of a Pilates reformer class last week, I had a sudden odd craving for grapefruit juice, so I went to Trader Joes on my way home and got some. Needless to say, I had a couple glasses and then didn’t know what to do with the rest of the carton. Flash forward to yesterday evening when a friend invited me over to have dinner, and I was thinking about what to bring…until I remembered that I had made “grapefruit” bars, a slightly sweeter version of lemon bars, a while back! I decided to give it another go to use more of the grapefruit juice, even though my KitchenAid did not make the trip to Chicago with me. I got a great arm workout and some delicious dessert out of it! Recipe below:

Grapefruit bars( ~3 -4 servings or 8 bars)
Total time: 75 minutes including baking time

Ingredients:

Crust:
1 stick of butter
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 cup of flour
1/8 teaspoon salt

Filling:
3 eggs
1.5 cups granulated sugar
1/2 cup grapefruit juice (can add more if you want sweeter bars)
1/3 cup lemon juice
1/2 cup flour
powdered sugar for dusting

Recipe

  1. Grease an 8X8 in baking pan and set aside
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  3. To make the crust, cream the butter and sugar until light. I used a wooden spoon but if you have an electric mixer, use it :). Then, combine the flour and salt separately and then add it into the butter mixture. Put the dough into the baking pan and flatten it out. Chill it for 15 minutes.
  4. Bake the crust for 15 minutes or until lightly browned. Take the pan out and let the crust cool down.
  5. To make the filling, whisk the eggs, sugar, grapefruit juice, lemon juice and flour together. Once the crust has cooled, pour the mixture over it.
  6. Bake for about 35 minutes or until the filling is set and doesn’t jiggle. Pull out the pan and let cool.
  7. Cut into bars, dust with powdered sugar, and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

