February Fatsmash Edition

Finally, getting a second to update here– I’m super excited at the moment as I was able to squeeze in a quick trip home with interviews to boot, so fingers crossed for the next couple of days! In any case, we’re already midway through February which is crazy, and I realized I needed to update the in season charts. Since there is a lot of overlap, I’m simply going to mention the edits:

Veggies:
1. Broccoli and cauliflower are now in season
2. Radishes are also now in season

With that, I also attempted to go on the fatsmash diet last week. I’m not really a dieter, but I liked the idea of fatsmash because it was a 9 day fruit and veggie heavy detox that then slowly incorporated foods back in and emphasized exercise. Unfortunately, I really am a terrible dieter and only made it 7 days before I couldn’t take no cheese, no bread, and no wine haha. However, the following recipe is one that I made for my first day on fatsmash and it was actually pretty good! The recipe is as follows:

Sweet Potato with Broccoli “Pesto” and Greek Yogurt( ~2  servings)
Total time:  35-40 minutes

Ingredients:

1 sweet potato
1/2 cup broccoli florets
4-5 basil leaves
1 tablespoon olive oil
Greek yogurt to top

Recipe:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees
  2. Cut sweet potato in half and place skin side down on a pre-greased baking sheet. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until the sweet potato is soft.
  3. While the potato is cooking, blend together the basil, broccoli, and oil to create pesto. You can blend down as far as you want, but to get true pesto consistency, it may take a while, so I left it slightly chunky.
  4. Once the sweet potatoes are done, top with the broccoli pesto and some greek yogurt
  5. While this was a main dish on my fatsmash detox, I would recommend serving  1/2 a sweet potato as a side in general

 

Leave a Reply

